Artist Spotlight: Galimatias

images-1

Not to be confused with GALANTIS, who I spotlighted a few weeks ago, Galimatias has one of the most unique, rhythmic, and almost infectious sounds I’ve ever heard from an EDM artist. While it can be disputed as to whether or not they can really be cochainsmokers-2014-performance-billboard-650nsidered “EDM”, the point of the matter is that it’s great music. You know the music that you listen to and when it ends, you’re just speechless. That’s what Galimatias does for me, and for many many others. Galimatias is comprised of 23 year old Matias Saabye Køedt, an electronic music DJ from Denmark, and as of 2013, Alina Baraz, who in collaboration with Matias produced one of the most entrancing, beautiful albums I’ve ever listened to, Urban Flora EP. All of Galimantias’ music can be found on both iTunes and Spotify.

IMG_1761

 

Luna Soul EP

600x600

Luna Soul was released before his partnership with Alina Baraz began, and features instrumental songs produced by Matias. This album is one of my all time favorites to drive and listen to. The beats, the melodies, and just the trance-like state all his songs put me in are my absolute favorite. Notable songs include To the Moon and Beyond, and Crestfallen.

 

 

Urban Flora, EP

Unknown

As I said earlier, this is one of the most beautiful albums I’ve ever heard in my life. Alina Baraz is a vocal wizard, and her voice along side the unmatched talents of Matias make this album something really, really special. I’m not even gonna include notable songs, because they are all really that good. It’s a rare thing to find an album thats good 100% of the way through, but this is definitely one of them.

Leave a comment