Artist Spotlight: Half Moon Run

HALF-MOON-RUN-at-ROUNDHOUSE-Guifre-de-Peray-The-Upcoming-14-676x451 Beginning in Canada, and making their debut in the UK with their album Dark Eyes, Half Moon Run emerged onto the music scene. While in Europe conquering the folk genre, their shift to America has brought a new sound to their music. One not so folky, but something else. With the incorporation of the lights, the bass, and the melodic trances Half Moon Run seems to produce, they put on one hell of a show. I myself was lucky enough to watch them play this past week at the Parish in Austin, Texas. Which, by the way, is an awesome venue. Going into the experience I didn’t know what to expect, I had heard their music on my laptop or whatever, but wasn’t sure exactly what I was going into. My expectations were completely shattered, and Half Moon Run delivered one of the best performances I have ever seen. While not only incorporating a new age edge to their music, they stick to their roots and rock a mean harmonica, which was absolutely incredible.landscape-music-half-moon-run-03

Half Moon Run currently has two albums, the newest of which being The Sun Leads Me On, which features some of my favorite songs of theirs, including Turn Your Love, which in all honesty was one of the coolest songs I’ve ever seen performed live.

Where Can I Check Them Out?

IMG_0404
Unfortunately, Half Moon Run has left Texas already for this year’s tour, but will be sure to return next year, hopefully for festivals including Austin City Limits and SXSW.

Leave a comment